IIT Roorkee stands tall in the list of premier engineering institutes in India. The institute is consistently ranked among the top colleges for the excellence and outstanding talent it has brewed in the students. IIT Roorkee was ranked 8th among engineering institutions in India by NIRF in 2021 and 35th by the QS Asia University Rankings in 2021. This article explores the success stories of IIT Roorkee Notable Alumni from the business, political, and arts fields.

Also Read: 13 Most Popular IIT Delhi Notable Alumni

IIT Notable Alumni

Born: September 1968

Field: Business

Former senior vice president at Google Inc.

Amitabh Kumar “Amit” Singhal is a former senior vice president at Google Inc. He was born in Jhansi, Uttar Paradesh. He completed a Bachelor of Engineering degree in computer science from IIT Roorkee in 1989 and did an M.S degree from the University of Minnesota Duluth in 1991.

According to The New York Times, Singhal was the “master” of Google’s ranking algorithm – as he made the formulas that decide which Web pages best answer each user’s question. Singhal served as the head of Google’s core search ranking team until 26 February 2016. Later, in 2017, he joined Uber as SVP of engineering.

Singhal received the Outstanding Achievement in Science and Technology Award at The Asian Awards. And he was elected member of the National Academy of Engineering.

IIT Notable Alumni

Born: India

Field: Academics

28th Vice-Chancellor of Banaras Hindu University

Sudhir Kumar Jain is a civil engineer by education. During the course of his career, he served as the founding director of the Indian Institute of Technology Gandhinagar.

Sudhir earned a Bachelor of Civil Engineering from the University of Roorkee (now IIT Roorkee) in 1979, and master, and doctoral degrees from the California Institute of Technology, Pasadena in 1980 and 1983 respectively.

He has been awarded several times for his notable achievements. Some of the awards and honors that can be counted for now are Thomson Memorial Gold Medal (1979), Padma Shri for Science & Engineering (8 November 2021), and IIT Roorkee Distinguished Alumnus Award-2018.

IIT Notable Alumni

Born: 13 April 1851 – 10 July 1927

Field: Engineering

Civil engineer and Architect

Ganga Ram Agarwal was an IIT Roorkee notable alumnus. He was an Indian civil engineer and architect. He was born in Mangtanwala, Punjab. He did his graduation in Civil engineering at Roorkee.

Ganga Ram Agarwal was a great engineer and a great philanthropist. In 1903, he received the title of Rai Bahadur. He is the one to have designed several public monuments like, the General Post Office, Lahore, Lahore Museum, Aitchison College, Mayo School of Arts (now the National College of Arts), Ganga Ram Hospital, Lahore 1921 and the list goes on.

IIT Notable Alumni

Born: 28 June 1942

Field: Education

Earth scientist and Seismologist

Harsh Kumar Gupta is an Indian earth scientist and seismologist. He is a former vice chancellor of the Cochin University of Science and Technology (CUSAT). He did his Ph.D. at the Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee. Gupta’s research is known to have developed a methodology for discriminating normal earthquakes from reservoir-induced ones.

Harsh Kumar is a recipient of the 1983 Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology, the highest Indian award in the science and technology category, and the 2008 Waldo E. Smith Award, Gupta was awarded the fourth highest Indian civilian honor of the Padma Shri in 2006.

IIT Notable Alumni

Born: 20 July 1932

Field: Envirnoment


Guru das Agrawal, also known as Sant Swami Sanand and Sant Swami Gyan Swaroop Sanand. Born in Kandhla, Uttar Pradesh. He graduated in civil engineering from the IIT Roorkee. Back in his time, it was called the University of Roorkee.

He is known for stopping the construction of dams on the Bhagirathi River in 2009. For this purpose, he went on fast to stop many projects on sacred water bodies like the River Ganga. Agrawal died on 11 October 2018, after fasting since 22 June 2018, demanding the government act on its promises to clean and save the Ganga.

IIT Notable Alumni

Born: 17 December 1957

Field: Business

President and CEO of Harman International

Dinesh C. Paliwal is an Indian American business executive. He earned an MS degree in Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee, an MS in Applied Science and Engineering, and an MBA in Finance from Miami University (Oxford, Ohio).

He is a Partner at Kohlberg Kravis Roberts (KKR). He also serves as Executive Chairman of Marelli. Earlier he was the Chairman and chief executive officer (CEO) of Harman International. He was honored with many rewards during the course of his business period.

IIT Notable Alumni

Born: 20 July 1858

Field: Spirituality

Spiritual Guru

Sawan Singh was a scholar turned Saint. He is also known as The Great Master or Bade Maharaj Ji. He was the second spiritual head of Radha Soami Satsang Beas (RSSB). Sawan Singh was born in Ludhiana, Punjab. He is known for his spiritual wisdom. He authored several books as well, namely Tales of the Mystic East, Spiritual Gems, Philosophy of the Masters, Shabd Ki Mahima Ke Shabd, and many more.

IIT Notable Alumni

Born: 1844

Field: Photography


Lala Deen Dayal, famously known as Raja Deen Dayal was an Indian photographer. His career began in the mid-1870s as a commissioned photographer later, he became the court photographer to the sixth Nizam of Hyderabad. Deen Dayal was born in Sardhana, Uttar Pradesh. Deen Dayal was appointed photographer to Queen Victoria in 1897.

IIT Notable Alumni

Born: 29 December 1879

Field: Arts

Indian aviation pioneer

Sriram Venkatasubba Setty was known as the first Indian aviator, assisting with the design of the Avro 504. He was also a founder professor of Karnataka’s first engineering college, University Visvesvaraya College of Engineering, Bangalore. On 12 October 1918, Setty died in the influenza epidemic.

IIT Notable Alumni

Born: 1946 – 2012, India

Field: Science


Sri Niwas was an Indian geophysicist and a professor at the Department of Earth Sciences of the Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee. He was known for his research on the Inversion of Geophysical Data. Sri Niwas was born in Uttar Pradesh. He was awarded the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology, which is one of the highest Indian science awards for his contributions to Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean, and Planetary Sciences in 1991.

List of IIT Roorkee Notable Alumni

Here, is the list of IIT Roorkee Notable Alumni:

  • Pradip Baijal – IAS and former chairman of Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI)
  • Anirudh Agarwal – Indian character actor
  • Rakesh Agrawal – ex-Microsoft Fellow, and ex-IBM fellow widely known as the “Father of Data Mining”
  • Mangu Singh – managing director of Delhi Metro Rail Corporation Limited
  • Sumit Jain – co-founder and CEO of Opentalk
  • A. S. Arya – National Seismic advisor and Padma Shri awardee