IIT Dhanbad notable alumni: Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Dhanbad, formerly known as the Indian School of Mines (ISM), is a premier technical institution located in Dhanbad, Jharkhand, India. It was established in 1926. It is one of the oldest institutions in India focused on mining and earth sciences. Over the years, IIT Dhanbad has expanded its academic programs to include various branches of engineering, applied sciences, management, and social sciences, making it a comprehensive institution of higher learning.

IIT Dhanbad offers undergraduate, postgraduate, and doctoral programs across diverse fields such as engineering, applied sciences, computer science, management, and humanities. Read the article for IIT Dhanbad notable alumni list.

IIT Dhanbad

IIT Dhanbad Ranking
IIT Dhanbad has been ranked among the top engineering institutions in India by various prestigious rankings and publications. IIT Dhanbad was ranked 15th among engineering institutes in India by the National Institutional Ranking Framework (NIRF) in 2021. It has been recognized globally for its research output, faculty quality, and industry collaborations.

IIT Dhanbad Notable Alumni in Private Sector

ISM Notable AlumniNotability
Dr Rabi Narayan BastiaReceived Padma Shri in 2007
Discovered the Krishna Godavari Basin
Former Senior VP at Reliance Industries
Serves as Adjunct Professor at ISM Dhanbad
Sharma Nand SharmaChairman of SEZ Developers Association of India
Owner of Surat SEZ
CMD of Diamond & Gem Development Corporation
Vinay Kumar DewanFounder and Chairman of Bramco Group, Bahrain
Operates in the Middle East, India, Germany, UK, and USA
Dr Ganesh ThakurVice President, Chevron Corporation, USA
2012 International President, Society of Petroleum Engineers, USA
Dr Mihir SinhaEnergy finance specialist
Former Vice President of J. P. Morgan, USA
Dr Madan SinghDirector, Arizona Government’s Department of Mines and Mineral Resources, USA
Dr Ragula BhaskarFounder President FatPipe Networks, USA
Headed governors-elect’s review panel in Utah, USA
Goutam GhoshVice President Exploration at BG Group
Baroruchi MishraVice President Engineering, East / Head of LNG Programme Office, Royal Dutch Shell
S. K. JhaInvited by United Nations IDO to assist the African Nations for their Industrial Development
Prabhakar Ram TripathiCMD of Minman Consultancy Services<br>- Selected “Man of the Year 2002” by American Biographical Institute, USA
Dr Ram G. AgarwalFormer Senior Technical Advisor, British Petroleum<br>- Honoured with Lifetime Achievement Award, 2010 by SPE, USA
Prof. A. K. GhoseFormer President of the Institution of Engineers (India)
Chayan ChakrabartyPresident & CEO at Bengal Energy Ltd, Canada
Dr Hemanta MukherjeeFounder, iPoint LLC, USA
Suresh ChughFounder, IFM Resources, USA
Atul AryaSenior Vice President, IHS Inc., USA
Ananda RakhitChief Information Officer and Vice President, NES Rentals Holdings, USA
Ramesh GopalanHead of Operations in India, Hinduja Global Solutions
Dibyendu BoseGroup Director, Investments & New Ventures, Tata Steel
IIT Dhanbad Notable Alumni

IIT Dhanbad Notable Alumni in Public Sector

ISM Notable AlumniNotability
Waman Bapuji MetreReceived Padma Bhushan in 1968
Considered a Pioneer of the Indian oil industry
Played a major role in the establishment of ONGC
Belonged to the 1st batch of ISM (1926–30)
Gulshan Lal TandonReceived Padma Bhushan in 1986
Former CMD of Coal India
Surinder Jit SibalFormer DG, Directorate General of Mines Safety, Govt of India
Rahul GuhaDG, Directorate General of Mines Safety, Govt of India
B N TalukdarDirector General, Directorate General of Hydrocarbons (DGH)
Narendra K VermaManaging Director, ONGC Videsh Limited
Ramendra GuptaCMD, Uranium Corporation of India Limited
R S SharmaEx CMD, Oil and Natural Gas Corporation Limited (ONGC)
Nayan Mani BorahEx-CMD, Oil India Limited
U. D. ChoubeyCMD, Gail Authority of India Ltd.
Atul ChandraEx-Managing Director, ONGC Videsh Limited
Niladri Kumar MitraChief Operating Officer (COO) of GSPC
Former Board Member of ONGC Videsh Ltd.
P R TripathiEx-CMD, National Mineral Development Corporation (NMDC)
N C JhaEx-CMD, Coal India Limited (CIL)
IIT Dhanbad Notable Alumni

IIT Dhanbad Notable Alumni in Academics

ISM Notable AlumniNotability
Dr Harsh GuptaReceived Padma Shri in 2006
Renowned Earth Scientist
Former Member of NDMA – having a rank of Union Minister of State, 2011-14
Former Secretary to Govt of India in the Department of Ocean Development
Former Vice Chancellor, CUSAT
Former Director of NGRI Hyderabad
Dr Vijay Prasad DimriReceived Padma Shri in 2010
Renowned Earth Scientist
Former President of the Indian Geophysical Union
Former Director of NGRI
Prof. R.K. KhandalFellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, London
Former Vice Chancellor of Uttar Pradesh Technical University
Former President of WAITRO, Malaysia (World Association of Industrial & Technological Research Organizations)
Prof. Akhil Datta GuptaEndowed Chair Professor, Petroleum Engineering Department, Texas A&M University, USA
Prof. Pradeep TalwaniFaculty Emeritus of Geophysics, University of South Carolina
Director, South Carolina Seismic Network, USA
Prof. Raja V. RamaniProfessor Emeritus of Mining Engineering, Penn State University, USA
Prof. Hemanta K SarmaChairman, Petroleum Engineering Department, The Petroleum Institute, Abu Dhabi, UAE
Prof. Amit AcharyaProfessor, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Prof. Mrinal K. SenFormer Director of NGRI Hyderabad
Professor of Geophysics, University of Texas at Austin, USA
Prof. Sanjay SrinivasanProfessor of Petroleum Engineering, University of Texas at Austin, USA
Prof. Indranil R. BardhanProfessor of Information Systems, School of Management, University of Texas at Dallas, USA
Prof. Someswar KeshProfessor of Information Systems, College of Business and Professional Studies, University of Central Missouri, USA
Prof. Santanu KhataniarProfessor of Petroleum Engineering, University of Alaska Fairbanks, USA
Prof. Chandra S. RaiProfessor of Petrophysics, University of Oklahoma, USA
Prof. Aftab Alam KhanProfessor of Geology, Dhaka University, Bangladesh
IIT Dhanbad Notable Alumni

IIT Dhanbad Notable Alumni in Civil Service

ISM Notable AlumniNotability
Sunil Kumar BarnwalSecured All India Rank 1 in IAS Exam-1996 conducted by UPSC
Kanhaiya Lal GuptaRetd IPS of 1953 Batch
Former Director General of Police (top cop) of U.P.
Randhir Kumar3rd Rank, Civil Services Examination-2005
Nand Kumaram8th Rank, Civil Services Examination-2008
K.A.P. SinhaPresently Secretary, Science and Tech, Punjab
Ajit Roy BardhanSecretary, PWD, West Bengal
Asok BarnwalPS to Minister of Surface Transport, Govt of India
Rajat BhargavResident Commissioner of Andhra Pradesh, New Delhi
Mahesh Dinkar PathakSecretary, Government of Maharashtra
T K VinodkumarDIG, former Commissioner of Police, Calicut
Amresh MishraS.S.P., Founder of ‘Kartavya’ NGO
Abdul HamidS.S.P. in Govt of U.P.
IIT Dhanbad Notable Alumni

Read: List of Famous IITians who became IAS